Theatre

  • The African Company presents Richard III banner

The African Company presents Richard III

Friday, March 9, 2018 - 7:30pm to Sunday, March 18, 2018 - 2:00pm

Location:
Little Theatre in Nordhoff Hall / Doors open 30 min. before performance
Cost:
General $20 / Senior $17 / Students $15

 

In 1821, forty years before Lincoln ended slavery, and fifty years before African Americans earned the right to vote, the first black theatrical group in the country , the African Company of New York, staged plays in a downtown Manhattan theatre for both black and white audiences. Their competition is an uptown Broadway impresario who is producing Richard III at the same time as the African Company and wants them shut down. A historical event that continues to resonate today.

A play by Carlyle Brown • Directed by Christine Menzies

Performance Dates:

  • Fri. Mar. 9 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Sat. Mar. 10 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Sun. Mar. 11 — 2 p.m.
  • Wed. Mar. 14 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Thurs. Mar. 15 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Fri. Mar. 16 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Sat. Mar. 17 — 7:30 p.m. 
  • Sun. Mar. 18 — 2 p.m. 

Venue:
The Little Theatre in Nordhoff Hall

Doors Open:
7 p.m. with curtain up at 7:30 p.m. except Sunday.
On Sunday, doors open at 1:30 p.m. with curtain up at 2 p.m.

Seating:
Reserved seating/Purchase early for best choice -- No Late Seating